Old Baggage

It was a dark and stormy night last night. It is a dark and stormy morning this morning, and it’s Friday the 13th to boot. Seems like a good day to get back to writing.

I’ve neglected the blog lately because I’ve been sort of a wreck. Far too much drama going on in my personal life, and far too much old baggage falling out of the closet on top of my head. So I did what I should have done with that old baggage to begin with. I took it all out of the dark closet, and cleaned the dust away. Then I opened each package and looked at the contents.

I took out each item, shook away the mites and moths, and examined it carefully. Some of that stuff is old and useless. I tossed it out, with or without due ceremony.

Some of it I wasn’t sure about or didn’t feel up to cleaning and mending. I took note of each item, folded it carefully, packed it securely, and put it safely back on the closet shelf.

Some of what I found can be remade or even used as-is. It was to those things that I turned my attention. I took my time. I brushed each item carefully, removing the cobwebs and dust. I looked at it calmly, closely observing each fold and wrinkle, and I smoothed it. I tried it on. If it fit, I washed, mended and ironed it and gave it a place in my cupboard of useful items. If it didn’t fit, I got rid of it.

I didn’t finish going through everything, so I put what was left over back in the storage closet. But the closet is clean now and it won’t be such a daunting chore to open it up next time.

4 thoughts on “Old Baggage

  1. Thank you, SD. I love your blog, you know, and read every new post (even if I don’t always comment).

    I’m trying a new Tuscan white bean soup recipe today, btw. It looks delicious and should only take about 15 minutes of prep and an hour of cooking. Yay!

Join the discussion.

