Meatless Meals: Moroccan-style Carrots

I made Moroccan carrot salad the other day – I’d forgotten how good that is! I learned the dish from the Polish-American wife of a Turkish-Israeli and because I’m an inveterate improviser when I cook, I’m sure I’ve changed the recipe by now, but I don’t actually remember. All that’s to say that this dish might more accurately be called something like

Moroccan-style carrot salad

After washing and scraping the carrots, cut them into rounds. Heat a little olive oil in a pan and cook the carrots to the desired degree of tenderness. Transfer the mixture to a heat-proof bowl.

Toss with lemon juice, then season with crushed red pepper (or hot paprika), sweet paprika, cumin, cinnamon and coriander. Use the spices in proportions of your choosing, but do use all of them. (If you are not used to Middle Eastern food, the combination might seem strange; just give it a try!) Let the salad marinate for a while. Before serving, add chopped, flat-leafed parsley and toss again.

That’s it. Quick and easy to prepare and the result is consistently deliciously. I serve it at room temperature as a salad or warmer as a side dish.

2 thoughts on “Meatless Meals: Moroccan-style Carrots

  1. I’m not actually a fan of carrots, but the rest of the household loves them. I’ll have to give it a try.

Join the discussion.

