It’s my blog, and…

…I’ll blather if I want to.

I had the head CT today. It went well, considering how anxious I am. The doctor was older than me (and still working!), very kind. He smiled and calmed me and smiled and even made me laugh. He was also a champ at starting the IV. My veins are pretty much shot after eight years of chemotherapy, exams and treatments, but he managed to get the needle into a pretty small vein and only had to jiggle it a little. Didn’t hurt…

A hematoma is born.

…until the end of the exam when they flushed the IV. Then the vein blew. That hurt. I yelped, and the doctor and technician came in quickly. This is what they found. It’s not dreadful, just kind of sore. It will reabsorb in a couple of days. I left with a CD of the scan images, and the results will be sent to me by email within five days.

I took advantage of my astronomically high ANC (absolute neutrophil count) of 800 (normal is at least 1500) and used the excursion to the imaging center as an excuse for a walk. And in this Age of Internet, what’s a walk without pictures?

As I walked out the front door of the center, I was greeted with nothing less than a hearse from one of the burial societies parked in front. The writing says “Burial Society of the Yemenite Community” and, sadly, parts of some of the letters are worn off. I didn’t notice any mourners around, and it’s entirely possible that the driver lives in one of the apartments in the building behind it. Still, I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry or make my last Act of Contrition.

I decided to walk the long way, so I cut through the city center. “Cut through” is not entirely accurate. I walked in the opposite direction from my house so I could take full advantage by making a big loop. I miss walking outside!

In one of the side streets I came across a restaurant that really embodies the very strange nature of this city that I love. The name of the restaurant is Mifgash HaSheikh or “The Sheikh’s Meeting Place”, and in letters larger than the name, the sign proclaims that it is open 24/6  (24 hours a day except for Saturday, the Jewish Sabbath) and that the food is kosher. Restaurant guides categorize it as “Jerusalemite fast food”. Does it get any stranger?

7 thoughts on “It’s my blog, and…

  1. A hematoma and a hearse all in one walk home…with photo documentation. Not to mention being a participant in a medical marvel such as a CT…what a morning you had…..

  2. Boy, I hate it when veins blow and now that I’m on blood thinners the bruise is huge. Hope it heals quickly and the results of your test is good.

  3. I love how you can laugh and cry and blather all in the one post – quite an eventful morning, and thanks for sharing, especially the ironies.
    Blessings
    Maxine

  4. Irony is an inherent part of life. If we’re able to take it well, we can survive lots of things that are either too absurd (at least on surface) or too difficult. I’m not sure what to think of that hearse, but seeing that it’s Yemenite somehow made me feel better about it; it’s not related to you.🙂
    I’m glad you used the opportunity to walk around the city, walking is a great way to clear the mind a bit and to breathe.

  5. Pingback: Anxiety: A Paradox « Telling Knots

  6. Pingback: I really do have holes in my head. « Telling Knots

Join the discussion.

