My First Century! (*)

(*) Yes – a cricket reference from someone who is utterly clueless about the game.

This is my 100th post, so I’d like to present a few numbers.

I started the blog on the 29th of October of last year with Jumping right in and a photo of a bloom on my now-defunct hibiscus bush.

WordPress changed their stats page last February, so I unfortunately cannot include all the stats from my first three limping months of blogging. Howmsoever… Since 25 February 2012, I have had visitors from 110 countries. The top ten countries by number of hits are France (120), New Zealand (121),  South Africa (123), Australia (133), Philippines (149), India (179),  Canada (343), Israel (345), United Kingdom (348), and the United States (2807).

Not counting hits on the homepage / archives or on the videos, and taking the post Beautiful lace out of the running because I linked to it on a specialty lacemaking e-mail list, the most popular posts have been: Should I kiss the archbishop? or Good Manners (226 hits), Where are you from? (224), What does “Telling Knots” mean? (210), You can’t always get what you want… (199), and Apocaloptimists Unite! (165). (I wish I could figure out how to find the most commented posts, but I’m not that good at this.)

There have been 8,416 total hits to the blog, and 382 comments. I don’t want to embarrass anyone by calling them by name, but I will say that the vast majority of comments come from six people. Thank you!

Out of 54 categories, the most popular are Scenes from my lifeLiving intentionally, and Cancer. Of the 191 tags, the most popular is examined life, with cancermind setrealistic optimism, and mental-health all tied for second place.

The strangest search terms (in my opinion) that led to my blog are “coment ouvrir une pizzeria take-whai” (misspelled “How to open a take-away pizzeria”), “if you watch godzilla backwards its about a dinosaur who passionately pieces a city back together before moonwalking into the sea” (which made me laugh), and “peer gynt nude ballet” (which leaves me speechless).

Although not the most read or the most commented, my favorite posts are the series about the bus bombing (starts here) and the “fundamentally happy” posts (here and here).

Over the next hundred posts, God willing, I’d like to expand on the vegetarian meals for meat-eaters recipes, go back to adding to my book review page, and try to be more coherent in my “living intentionally” posts. I’d also like to be more regular about posting.

What would you like to see here?

7 thoughts on “My First Century! (*)

  1. I love what you come up with no matter what the topic, you have a unique point of view, and it is often quite thoughtful and thought provoking.
    Blessings
    Maxine

  2. The bus bombing posts are some of my favorites, too, and I’ve been proud of myself for hanging in there with all the poetry you insist on posting…lol.

  3. Thanks so much, Maxine. Your comments are very encouraging.

    Well, Judy, I’m proud of you for hanging in with all that poetry! Someone has to send you a dose of cul-cha now and then… 😉

  4. the think i like most is just knowing you are here dear one and being able to read you………luv from Houston Tx…..

Join the discussion.

