Two Fifties and a One

October 2012 is a big anniversary month.

The first James Bond movie, Dr. No, premiered in London (UK) on the fifth of October, 1962.

According to a random Internet site whose reliability I have not checked at all:

  • The Vatican denounced the film for its poor ethical content.
  • Ian Fleming, author of the James Bond books, had wanted the young Roger Moore to play Bond, but the producers vetoed the idea.
  • With the exception of Miss Moneypenny, all the female voices in the film were dubbed by the same actress, who was not credited. (Harrumph. KT)

The very day that the film was released in the UK, a new four-piece combo of young men in need of a haircut released a single in the UK with “Love Me Do” on the A-side and “Please please me” on the B-side. “Love Me Do” peaked at 17 on the UK charts, but two years later made it to Number One in the US.

In honor of the anniversary, there is a great video interview with George Martin, the Beatles’ producer, on the BBC News website.

So that’s the two fifties.

The “one” – and the excuse for this post – is the first year of Telling Knots. I didn’t have the foresight to start the blog on the fifth of October; the first post was on the twenty-ninth and my idea was to throw something up on the blog quickly before I changed my mind. That post has had a grand total of sixteen views to date – about fifteen more than I thought it would get.

I want to thank you all for reading my blog, commenting, tweeting the links, “liking” the posts, sending me email. I’ve made some wonderful new friends, and have discovered new dimensions to long-time friendships. I’ve started exploring the fuzzy territory between TMI (“too much information”) and the amount of self-revelation that makes something worth reading. I’ve made some mistakes, but I don’t think I’ve alienated anyone. I have not received one single trollish comment (does that mean I’m not trying hard enough?), but I’ve had many, many friendly and encouraging responses.

So October is anniversary month here at Telling Knots. I’ll be revisiting some old themes and will probably repost some of my early favorite posts. Because if you can’t be self-indulgent on your own blog, I don’t know where you can!

15 thoughts on “Two Fifties and a One

  1. wwoooooooooooo hoooooooooooooooooooooo

    And a BIG Texas YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE HAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW luv ya Knot!!!!

  2. Well done ‘Knot Teller’ – I came here from Arachne list and have never regretted it – love your humour and your way with words, and have enjoyed getting to know what you share of yourself, and hearing your story. It has really given me some insight as to the reality of living with cancer, and compassion towards those who know they have limited time on this earth.
    blessings
    Maxine

  3. Congratulations! I really enjoy reading you! (except when the vegan in me wants to do some pro-spider activism 😉 Love you!

  4. Pingback: My first bus bombing (October Repeat) « Telling Knots

  5. Pingback: Have I survived yet? Part I (October Repeat) « Telling Knots

  6. Pingback: It’s your own fault! (October Repeat) « Telling Knots

  7. Pingback: Fundamentally happy « Telling Knots

  8. Pingback: Wednesday Video: Stephen Fry Kinetic Typography « Telling Knots

Join the discussion.

