Live Tweeting a Rocket Attack Alarm

From my Twitter account (@knotellin) less than an hour ago:

14:15     Air raid sirens in Jerusalem RIGHT NOW.

                Sitting on the floor, back to windows, under a stone archway. Waiting for boom or all clear.

                I hear military aircraft, presume they are Israeli.

14:19     Israel GPO tweeted explosion was heard. I didn’t hear anything and I’m not moving until I hear it’s okay.

14:23 Israeli police say no rockets struck within Jerusalem city limits.

14:29 Calming down, slowing breathing, getting up to drink some water and go back to what I was doing. Welcome to my life.

The first three tweets were pretty much one right after the other, as fast as I could type, hunched over the iPad while I sat on the floor between the kitchen and main room, back against the natural stone wall. I’ve corrected the speed-and-stress-induced typos in all of them.

It was over very quickly for us here. According to the army spokesman, the rocket fell south of Jerusalem and Bethlehem, in an unnamed Palestinian village. (Precise locations are not given so as not to assist the rocket launch crews in perfecting their aim.)

I’m calm now, but it will take a while to get rid of the tension headache.

It was surreal, sitting there and reading tweets about being cheerful and booksales and medical confidentiality issues with email while I tweeted the rocket alert and waited for an explosion. It was kind of good, though. A good, grounding reminder that normal life goes on and all this is just a little blip. Okay, a big blip, but still just a blip.

I don’t really know why I’m posting this, other than that it seem like a real good post for my “Scenes from my life” category.

6 thoughts on “Live Tweeting a Rocket Attack Alarm

  1. From the safety of the states you have a hard time relating to people living through this day in and day out. We tend to get a little desensitized watching the news. Glad you posted and glad you are okay.

  2. Thanks for the ‘real life’ glimpse of your current situation – we are so far removed that it takes a blog post like yours for us to come to some understanding of what id happening.
    Blessings and prayers
    Maxine

  3. Mainelyhopeful, I know what you mean. I don’t know how old you are, but I remember watching television in Los Angeles during the Vietnam War, reading about body counts and seeing pictures of bodies stacked like cordwood, and relating to it as being about people with families, hopes, pasts and futures. We do get desensitized.

    aallegoric, thank you. It is awful, and I’m not anywhere near the thick of it.

    Maxine, thanks very much. As I say, I’m not near the worst hostilities, but I’m finding myself more and more affected.

  4. I was watching the news and thinking of you, sitting there in the middle of all of this. Just the fact that I have been reading your blog and aware of your existence in that part of the world has put a very personal face on all this for me. I too am grateful for your post…to know how you are weathering these attacks. My heart and prayers are with you.

  5. Thank you for your thoughts, Velcro. I’ve found that the more I get know to know people in other places, either because they are visiting here or over the Internet, the more I become concerned about what is happening in other regions.

    I am so grateful for everyone who reads and comments.

Join the discussion.

