RIP Dave Brubeck

I doubt that anyone who reads Telling Knots needs an introduction to the Dave Brubeck Quartet (but if you do, start here). “Take Five” from their 1959 album Time Out was the first jazz piece that I remember listening to and enjoying. I must have been in the first grade or so, and my late father gets the credit for expanding my musical horizons at an early age. “Take Five” was written by saxophonist Paul Desmond, here playing alto sax. Also heard in this video are Dave Brubeck (piano), Eugene Wright (bass) and Joe Morello (drums).

Dave Brubeck died yesterday, December 5th, 2012, at the age of 91. RIP.

5 thoughts on “RIP Dave Brubeck

  1. Hullo Telling Knots,
    I am new to your blog so I still am in the captivating process of reading all your posts.
    I wanted to tell you how rich, interesting and full of depth your writing is. I know that in the coming weeks, I am going to be entertained (Dave Brubeck), fascinated (Bobbin Lace), and spiritually awakened by your posts on living with cancer.
    I have a friend who has Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia. 48 days ago, she had a bone marrow transplant. Her journey is being recorded through a website the hospital has created and I am a guest reader. Meds and their effects are being recorded but very little is being said about how you phrase it “It’s not death, it’s the dying”.
    In this instance, your writing is very different.
    Thank you for very inspirational reading.
    ~ Dana

  2. Dana, I hope your friend does well with the transplant.

    Thank you so much for your very kind words. You are most welcome here! Please look around and let me know your reactions to the different kind of posts I put up. I’m pleased to meet you.

Join the discussion.

