Pontius Pilate by Ann Wroe

Pontius PilatePontius Pilate by Ann Wroe

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Saint Pontius Pilate? Ever since I learned that Pilate is venerated as a saint in the Ethiopian Orthodox Church, the figure of Pilate has intrigued me. On the one hand, bad man! Bad, bad man! On the other – wait a minute. Wasn’t he a key figure in the working out of our salvation? After all, he sent Jesus to the cross, where in one explosive moment zenith became nadir became zenith, where the suffering and exhausted “it is finished” became words of triumph.

So it was with great curiosity and excitement that I approached Ann Wroe’s Pontius Pilate. I was not disappointed.

Painstakingly researched and brilliantly imagined, Pontius Pilate combines everything that is best in historiography and historical fiction. Wroe presents several Pilates, each portrait exquisitely drawn and consistent with the research… and each portrait amazingly different from the others.

I guess I’d classify this book as speculative history. It is history through a prism, rather than a microscope.

I reread Pontius Pilate every year at Lent. It has yet to disappoint me or seem old and tired.

Highly recommended to anyone looking for an intelligent, fluid read that will invite you into a world only superficially similar to our own.

Visit my Goodreads page.

3 thoughts on “Pontius Pilate by Ann Wroe

Join the discussion.

