Call for posts: Reminder

Anyone who is affected by metastatic breast cancer is invited to submit a post for me to publish during the month of October. There is some background in a post from two weeks ago, We are the 30%.

This is an invitation to

  • women living with metastatic breast cancer
  • men living with metastatic breast cancer
  • spouses/partners/close friends of people with metastatic breast cancer
  • children and siblings of people with metastatic breast cancer
  • caregivers of people with metastatic breast cancer
  • anyone affected by metastatic breast cancer

You are welcome to write a new post or use one that is already written.

Guidelines:

  1. The post should be between 500 and 750 words about your experience with MBC.
  2. Posts can be in English, French or Hebrew. (I’ll be happy to translate the French or Hebrew into English and publish both languages.)
  3. Please include a few words about yourself that I can include with your post.
  4. Send it to me at knotellin11@gmail.com

Remember: They won’t know if we don’t tell them!

"Empty Promises" is used by the kind permission of the Accidental Amazon. Thank you!

“Empty Promises” is used with the kind permission of the Accidental Amazon. Thank you!

12 thoughts on “Call for posts: Reminder

  1. Pingback: Weekly Round Up – The Changing Season Edition | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer

  2. I am a five-year breast cancer survivor. I know very little about metastatic breast cancer, so I look forward to reading what people are experiencing with this condition. Thank you so much for coordinating this.

  3. Pingback: Cancer Is Not Cute, or Why Pinktober Makes Me Queasy | Telling Knots

  4. This month is my mom’s 4 year anniversary living with stage 4 breast cancer!! I am her caregiver and never thought I would be going through this fight with another parent, having lost my dad to stage 4 colon cancer. My mom was told she had 2-3 years and she is beating all the odds. Her oncologist calls her a miracle baby. She uses her for her case studies and is now not talking about the end stage but about years!! Living with it has been hard though. People don’t realize that even though you look good on the outside, does not mean you are well on the inside. In addition the the cancer she has developed heart disease, kidney disease, and deals with diabetes too. Cancer has been lonely for us both. She doesn’t go out anymore unless it is to doctors appointments, the cancer is in her bones so she has a hard time walking and we can’t risk her getting infections. We don’t see family much anymore because one they just don’t seem to understand or want to deal with this and they have kids that can carry illness. I lost a job over the diagnosis because I need to be here and can’t get another because of the same reason. Finances are a nightmare and sometimes it is hard to face each day. The positive side is that she is still here and we are spending tons of time together that I wouldn’t change for the world. I wish more people understood that there are metavivors out there and research needs to be done for them too. So remember breast cancer awareness is for all, not just those in Stage 1. Life is hard for them and for those who give up everything to keep them as long as we can. I love my mother with all my heart and am hoping, maybe unrealistically, for 20 more years!! Oh, and the metavivor movement needs to get their ribbon out publicly for all to wear and be aware of, wish I had one, would wear it with pride!!

    • Thank you for writing, Tammy. You’ve certainly had a tough row to hoe.

      Like your mom I don’t go out any more, either. I’m in my ninth year with stage 4 breast cancer, and I’ve talked with people who have been living with it for longer than that. Lots of variables here, so don’t despair.

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting!

  5. Oh how I love this idea.

    I would say that I am newly diagnosed with Stage 4 Metastatic Breast Cancer. Her2 positive, I received my diagnosis on February 25, 2013. My Metastases is to the bones.I was alone when the surgeon disclosed to me that the biopsy results came back positive for breast cancer. Devastated I walked to the bus stop and entered the bus. Being a faith based person I noticed an Evangelist enter the bus a little after i sat down. I felt a nudging from the Lord to approach her and ask her to pray a prayer of agreement with me that God would give me greater faith to address my diagnosis. Immediately she prayed and i began to feel better.

    Cancer treatment began for me on April 9, 2013 with Taxotere,Perjeta and Herceptin. My worse side effect throughout my six cycle chemo treatment (Taxotere) was fatigue. However towards the end of the chemo (Taxotere) treatment which ended in September. The oncologist took away the chemo because my markers went down and gave me Arimdex in it’s place. So, presently my chemo has been replaced with the pill Arimdex and I am still on the targeted hormones and therapy of Herceptin and Perjeta. Also I am on bone treatment and I am looking to move to North Carolina to receive treatment at UNC Cancer Hospital in Chapel Hill North Carolina.
    Lately, i participated in Share educational support group because I wanted to know more about Lymph edema as I still have swelling in my left arm and now I am trying to see if I can see a therapist before I transition. Prayer and faith has helped me through this very devastating process. Mastectomy is up coming and I am very prayerful

    • Hi, Linda. I’m so sorry that you are a new member of this club no one wants to join. It sounds like you are taking positive measures to take care of yourself, and that is great.

      Please come back here to read and comment as much as you like.

      Lots and lots of hugs and warm good wishes.

Join the discussion.

